Appointment of Electoral Commission Chairperson


TU Dublin SU Independent Chairperson of the Electoral Commission

The TU Dublin SU Electoral Commission (EC) is the body which oversees the electoral processes of TU Dublin Students’ Union. It regulates the operation of all elections, plebiscites, referenda, confirmation ballots or other ballots and advises on the schedules relating to elections.

The membership of the EC comprises the Independent Chairperson, the elected President of the Students’ Union and four students nominated by Student Council (the democratic decision and policy making body of the SU).

Fundamental to the role of the Independent Chairperson of the Electoral Commission is the understanding of the values and ethos of TU Dublin Students’ Union.

About the role

Role of the Electoral Commission:

  • To compile and update the Electoral Regulations and all other documentation relevant to TU Dublin SU democratic procedures
  • Advise Student Council on the operations of the democratic processes of the SU
  • Investigate complaints against any electoral campaign, candidate, electoral or ballot process or result

More specifically, the Independent Chairperson of the Electoral Commission:

  • Is the Chairperson of all meetings of the Commission which take place at regular times during the year and may be rotated between Blanchardstown, Tallaght and City campuses.
  • Is responsible for the preparation and approval of all the Commission’s meeting documentation (with the support of the Electoral Commission clerk)
  • Acts as Chief Returning Officer during any election, referenda, including attendance at and oversight of the Count
  • Submits an annual report to Student Council
  • Determines matters of procedure for the Commission in accordance with / in compliance with the SU Constitution
  • Is available to answer queries from President and Clerk

Person specification

  • Exclusion criteria: is, or has been, a member of TU Dublin Students’ Union within the last 4 years (TU Dublin student or elected officer)

The person should have a view to bring the following to its decision-making process:

  • Knowledge and understanding of student democracy
  • Knowledge of electoral procedures 
  • Experience of chairing meetings in a diverse environment
  • Objectivity and impartiality
  • Stability in view of the transient nature of student membership

Term Limits and Succession

The Independent Chairperson of Electoral Commission will be appointed for one term of 3 years, starting on 1st July 2023, with the option of a second term up to a maximum of 6 years.

Meeting fee

The Chairperson of Electoral Commission receives a meeting fee of €100.

How to apply

Expressions of interest which should include a CV and a covering letter outlining the reasons for your application should be emailed to by 5pm on Wednesday the 8th of March 2023.

Downloadable advertisement