The Student Awards Ceremony

The TU Dublin Student Awards ceremony took place at Dublin’s Radisson Blu Hotel in early May. The awards, organised by TU Dublin Students’ Union, recognize and celebrate the achievements of students demonstrating exceptional leadership and commitment in areas as diverse as Welfare, Education, and Events and Engagement. A total of fifteen awards and honours were presented on the night, including five Class Rep Awards which were jointly sponsored by the University. In all 196 class reps from all faculties were nominated for these awards, which saw five student representatives commended for their outstanding contribution to student democracy. Awards were also presented to those who represented their local campuses with pride and enthusiasm over the past year. 

One of the highlights of the evening saw the Students’ Union bestow Honorary Membership of TU Dublin Students’ Union on Brian Gormley. The honour, which has only ever been awarded on a handful of rare occasions, was presented in recognition of Brian Gormley’s passionate advocacy and unwavering allyship to the Irish Student Movement over the past three decades.


Announcing the award, SU President Brian Jordan read a citation stating that Brian Gormley had dedicated his professional career to enhancing the lives of students, from his time as President of DCU Students’ Union, then as Head of Student Services in Maynooth University, later as Manager of Campus Life in DIT, and more recently as Deputy Head of Student Services and Wellbeing within TU Dublin.


The citation continued, “Throughout these various roles, Brian Gormley has been a tireless advocate for students, totally focussed on improving the quality and extent of critical services that students rely on to enable them to succeed in their academic lives on campus. Health Services, Counselling, Careers, Sports and Societies have all flourished under his brilliant leadership, with countless students benefitting from his vision and stewardship.” 


The SU President added that Brian Gormley had consistently been a great support and ally to the current SU Leadership Team and to the many sabbatical officer teams that came before them. “He was always a fan of the partnership approach to resolving contentious issues, before it was fashionable to do so, and I have no doubt that he will bring the same energy, commitment, and sense of fun to his new role as Head of Sustainability at TU Dublin.” 

Congratulating all the award winners, SU President Brian Jordan said, “From outstanding class reps to champion fundraisers, to campus representatives, to those who excelled through welfare, education, and events, these awards are a testament to the hard work, dedication, and commitment of our students here in TU Dublin. We are proud to acknowledge their outstanding contributions to the Students’ Union, the University, and beyond.”

The ceremony also saw the presentation of a cheque for just over €12,000 to Gemma Watts, of the Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association (IMNDA), which was the SU’s designated RAG charity partner for this academic year. The amount was raised through a series of student-led fundraisers, including specially organised events and competitions, a dedicated RAG Week, and a charity abseil at Smithfield’s iconic Generator Skyview Tower on the May Bank Holiday weekend.


Commending students on their fundraising efforts, Jordan said, “From our students, staff and Officers abseiling off the Skyview Tower in Smithfield, to Officers dressing up in drag, getting hypothermia in a dunk tank and getting thrown off rodeo bulls, it’s safe to say we gave fundraising our all. The amount raised demonstrates the generosity and compassion that exists within our student body, who came together to support such an important cause, and make a real difference in the lives of people today.” The SU President also announced that the RAG Charity Partner for 2023/24 will be the Irish Cancer Society.

TU Dublin Students’ Union confirmed that the full list of award winners for 2022-23 is as follows: 

  • Honorary Membership of The Students’ Union Award – Brian Gormley
  • Blanchardstown Campus Student of The Year Award –Callum Breen 
  • City Campus Student of The Year Award -Guy Keogh 
  • Tallaght Campus Student of The Year Award –Katrina Murphy 
  • Welfare and Equality Student of The Year Award –Robert Brennan Bell 
  • Education Student of The Year Award –Annabel Biddulph 
  • Events and Engagement Student of The Year Award – Suzanne Doyle Copley and Ella McKeown
  • Best Fresher Award – Jack Jennings
  • President’s Award –Jamie O’Neill 
  • Student Council’s Chairperson’s Award -Konstantin Shramko 


Class Rep Award Winners

Student Name 



Caitlin Cunningham 

Arts & Humanities


Zainib Apako



Emer Meagher

Engineering & Built Environment


Joanna Carroll

Sciences & Health


Éadoain Ó'Snodaigh

Computing, Digital & Data


Total Number of Individual Class Reps Nominated


Total Number of Class Reps Elected in 2022/23



Find the full list of nominees here!

Abdolamed, Adam o callaghan, Adeshope Adeneye, Adrian Rychlicki, Adrienne Keuck, Áine Dillane, Aisha Ojuolape, Aisling Cleere, Alan McGovern, Alan Moore, Alan O'Regan, Alison Mulligan, Ally Menery, Alwin Baiju, Aminat Coster, Amy Cummins, Andrea Lafford, Anja, Anna Murray, Aoife O Brien, Aoife O'Brien,, Audrey Murphy, Jake Lee, Barry Pierce, Barry Scanlon, Bethina Avila, Brendan Keating, Brúgha Meehan, Cai Walker, Caitlin Cunningham, Caoilfhionn Hallissy, Caoimhe Cullen, Charley Reynalds, Charli Burke, Chelsie, Chloe Seymour, Cian Cooney, ciara rushe, Ciarán Galvin, Cici Carey, Claire Dunne, Claire Holland, Connor Morgan, Conor Boers, Conor Dowling, Conor Neylon, Daniel Corcoran, Daniella Okiwe, Dano, Darja Gubenko, David Foley, David O'Brien, Dean Walsh, Declan oreilly, Denis O Connor, Deviany Watson, Dominique Baldwin, Dora Krajil, Éadaoin Ó Snodaigh, Eile Ni Fhiaich, Eimear, Ekaterina, Elaine Staveley, Elena, Elia, Ellie ward, Emer Hussey, Emily Flanagan, Emily Maher Emily Sheridan, Emily Walsh, Eoghan Casey, Eoin Cunnen, EOIN NOONE, Erin Hogan, Ethan Levis, Eva McCarthy, Fiona, Flora Kunzel, Fola Oki, Gavin Hayes, Gavin Liu, Giulia Bianchi, Guy Keogh, Hammad Haque, Heather O'Connor, Hugh, Hunter Gahan Phelan, Isabella Finn, Isadora Gkioka, ISIDORA GKIOKA, Jack Molloy, Jack O'Neill, Jacob McConnell, Jade Phoenix, Jaimie Kavanagh, Jaimon Joseph, Jake mc Donnell, Jason kirwin, Jason Lalor, Jessica Perez, Joanna Carroll, John Benedict, John McDonagh, John Walsh, Jorell Borja, Joshua Ozougwu, Joseph Conlon, Joy idowu, Julia Szreter, Kally O'Rourke, Karen Mullins, Karolina Stirblyté, Katie Mooney, Katie O'Sullivan, Kayleigh Whelan, Kelly Burns, Kevin Maher, Kevin Malone, Kim Moran, Klaudia Cios, Konstantin, Lakshmipriya Kingkumar, Lara Souza, Laura Jones, Laura Kidd McEntee, Laura Mitchell, Liam mayenco, Lily Power Ahern, Linda Collins, Lisa Naessens, Luaren Geraghty, Lucy McNamee, Lucy Murphy, Lucy O'Brien, Luke McCarthy, Lydia Reilly, Maggie Jone, Margareta, Markuss Rasmanis, Marty Grá, Mary Akinlolu, Matas Latvenas, Matthew Rockett, Metodej Dvoracek, Michael Ward, Milania Kiselova, Molly Mooney, Naomi and Peter, Naomi Sebastine, Nathan McKee, Neale Dalton, Niamh salmon, Nicola, Oisin Casey, Orianna Byrnes, Pam Behan, Patrick Harty Killeen, Patrick Mulholland, Paul vickers, Peter McCann, Philip, Philip Hollingsworth, Queensley Jibson Odidi, Rachel Leong, Rafeella Spanou, Rares Bucsa, Robert Smyth, Roberta Merola, Robina Musarat, Robyn McCabe, Ruth cummins, Sandra Dudkiewicz, Sara Amete, Sarah Barron, Sarah Jane Mooney, Sarah Mooney, Sean Lambert, Sebastian Tkacz, Shane Doherty, Shane Reilly, Sharon Kaziba, Siobhan Boyle, Sk.Md. Ar-Roufe, Sophia Guiang, Sorcha-Louise Houlden, Sylvester Chigwala, Taramola Orelope, Tobias Balla, Tracey Ward, Vikas Kasera, Vivian Vollmann TInoco, Zack Giles,Zainab Apako