

Minutes: TU Dublin SU Student Council Meeting - Hustings

Date: Wednesday 22nd March 2023

Time: 6pm

Platform: Central Quad Grangegorman Room CQ-010 and online via Zoom

Present:	
Chairperson	Graham Hayes
President	Brian Jordan
Postgraduate Officer	Jessica Perez
Blanchardstown Deputy President	Louise Kavanagh
Blanchardstown Clubs and Societies Officer	Lee Browne
Blanchardstown Entertainments Officer	Patrick Moisan
City Vice President for Events & Engagement	Ian Kelly
City Vice President for Welfare & Equality	Hazel Doran
City Vice President Education	Saoirse Daly
City Aungier Street College Officer	Magdalena Seldmayr
Tallaght Deputy President	James Curry
Tallaght Entertainments Officer	Sophie Warren
Tallaght Societies Officer	Silvie Molloy
Tallaght Communications Officer	Oisin Putt
In Attendance:	

Clerk to the Council

Anna Perho



The Chair welcomed everyone to Student Council and the meeting was pronounced quorate. The agenda and Standing Orders for hustings were accepted by the Council.

1.	Minutes	Action item
•	Minutes from the last meeting on the 1 st March 2023 were approved.	Noted.
2.	Matters arising	Action item
•	No matters arising.	
3.	Correspondence	Action item
•	Deputy President for Tallaght Campus sent Correspondence for Electoral Commission membership during Elections. Student Council ratified the Executive decision.	Ratified.
4.	Part-Time Officer Hustings	Action item
- 2. - 3.	Callum Breen John Benedict Divinagracia Jedidiah Olanrewaju Mature Student Officer Dylan Kelly Roberto Leahy	
-	Charles Gallagher Christina Grammatikopoulou LGBTQ+ Rights Officer No nominations	Student Council Members to elect Part-Time Officers –



9.		voting taking place
-	Oriana Byrnes	online.
-	Fiona Ennis	
-	Ciara McKenna	
-	Becky Murphy	
-	Jamie Murphy	
•	Following the vote, the following students were elected for the Part-	
	Time Officer roles for the Academic year 2023-2024:	
1.	Gender Equality Officer	
_	Silvie Molloy	
2.	Sustainability Officer	
	Magdalena Sedlmayr	
3.	ACCESS Officer	
-	Jack Jennings	
4.	Ethnic Diversity Officer	
-	John Benedict Divinagracia	
5.	Mature Student Officer	Part-Time Officers
-	Roberto Leahy	were elected.
6.	International Student Officer	
-	Christina Grammatikopoulou	
7.	Gaeilge Officer	
-	Éadaoin Ó Snodaigh	
8.	Disabilities Officer	
8.	<u>Disabilities Officer</u> Ciara McKenna	
8.		
8. - 5.		Action item
-	Ciara McKenna	Action item Student Council Members to elect Student Directors – voting taking place online.
-	Ciara McKenna Directors for Board of TU Dublin SU CLG Hustings Student Directors for TU Dublin SU CLG Candidates for Academic Year 2023-2024 gave their hustings and answered questions as follows: - Samantha Corcoran	Student Council Members to elect Student Directors – voting taking place
6. 1.	Ciara McKenna Directors for Board of TU Dublin SU CLG Hustings Student Directors for TU Dublin SU CLG Candidates for Academic Year 2023-2024 gave their hustings and answered questions as follows: - Samantha Corcoran - Abhishek Mandloi USI Hustings Candidates for Board of USI gave their hustings and answered questions as follows: President Clifford, Chris (Munster Technological University Kerry Students' Union) - didn't attend, no hustings given Curtin, Patrick (South East Technological University Waterford Students' Union) - didn't attend, no hustings given Gujulla, Sai (Comhalatas na Mac Léinn Ollscoil na Gaillimhe)	Student Council Members to elect Student Directors – voting taking place
5.	Ciara McKenna Directors for Board of TU Dublin SU CLG Hustings Student Directors for TU Dublin SU CLG Candidates for Academic Year 2023-2024 gave their hustings and answered questions as follows: - Samantha Corcoran - Abhishek Mandloi USI Hustings Candidates for Board of USI gave their hustings and answered questions as follows: President Clifford, Chris (Munster Technological University Kerry Students' Union) - didn't attend, no hustings given Curtin, Patrick (South East Technological University Waterford Students' Union) - didn't attend, no hustings given	Student Council Members to elect Student Directors – voting taking place



3. VP for Academic Affairs

 O'Mahony, Bryan (South East Technological University Waterford Students' Union)

4. VP for Campaigns

- Albarghouthi, Zaid (Trinity College Dublin Students' Union)
- Hynes, Aoife (Maynooth University Students' Union) didn't attend, sent apologies for not being able to attend
- Portbury, Kieron (Queens University Belfast Students' Union) written hustings sent in and read on Kieron's behalf
- **O'Mahony, Christine** (Dublin City University Students' Union)

5. VP for Welfare

- Murphy, Colette (Dublin City University Students' Union)

6. VP for Equality & Citizenship

- Curry, James (Technological University of Dublin Students' Union)

7. Leas-Uachtarán don Gaeilge (VP for the Irish Language)

- Lewandowska, Alicia (South East Technological University Waterford Students' Union) – didn't attend, no hustings given

8. VP for Postgraduate Affairs

- Mubashar Saeed, Muhammad (Dublin City University Students' Union)
- Sardina, Seathrún (Trinity College Dublin Students' Union)
- Sayyam Afzal, Muhammad (Dublin City University Students' Union)
 didn't attend, no hustings given.
- After the vote, the Mandate from Student Council to Congress delegates was as follows:

President

Gujulla, Sai (Comhalatas na Mac Léinn Ollscoil na Gaillimhe)

> VP for Dublin Region

Murphy, Nathan (Dublin City University Students' Union)

VP for Academic Affairs

 O'Mahony, Bryan (South East Technological University Waterford Students' Union)

VP for Campaigns

Albarghouthi, Zaid (Trinity College Dublin Students' Union)

VP for Welfare

Murphy, Colette (Dublin City University Students' Union)

VP for Equality & Citizenship

 Curry, James (Technological University of Dublin Students' Union)

<u>Leas-Uachtarán don Gaeilge (VP for the Irish Language)</u>

 Lewandowska, Alicia (South East Technological University Waterford Students' Union)

VP for Postgraduate Affairs

 Mubashar Saeed, Muhammad (Dublin City University Students' Union)

Student Council
Members vote for USI
Candidates and this
will mandate TU
Dublin Congress
Delegates on how to
vote – voting taking
place online.

TU Dublin SU USI delegates to vote according to the mandate.



7. Opening Nominations	Action item
 Following nominations were opened: RAG Charity 2023-2024 (open until 5th April 2023) LGBTQ+ Rights Officer (TU Dublin SU Part-Time Officer, open until 16th April 2023) Student Directors for the Board of TU Dublin SU CLG for 2023-2024 (open until 16th April 2023) 6 Student Members of TU Dublin SU CLG for 2023-2024 (open until 16th April 2023) 	Student Councillors encouraged to run for open roles and to nominate RAG Charities.
9. Any other business	Action item
 Update was giving on TU Dublin SU Elections taking place via on campus polling next week's Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, and the Count takes place on Friday 31st March 2023 in Bolton Street. James gave an update about USI Congress, delegates have been contacted. 	
10. Date of next meeting	Action item
Wednesday 19 th April 2023 at 6pm.	Clerk to send invite.